Veterans Assistance Commission of Winnebago County Commission Meeting September 11, 2024

Meeting Opened: 5:30 pm

Attendees:

Dave Davis - President

Terrell Lewis - Finance Coordinator

Nancy Clark – Administrative Coordinator

Lana McCants - Service and Personnel Coordinator

Ken VanLandegham

Gary Holmes

George Meissen

John Kline – Zoom

Stephanie Gilberto

Eric Willard

Jerome Egilske

Reuben Hernandez

Dave Drager

Gene Schaefer

Jesus Pereira - Superintendent

Debra Hoover – VACWC Secretary

Michael Phillips - Attorney

Agenda Approved – Reading is Motion – 2nd by Terrell Lewis Voice Vote – Unanimous

No Public Comments

Minutes – 2 required changes to be made by D. Hoover Reading is Motion – 2nd by Terrell Lewis Voice Vote – Unanimous

Presidents Report – Dave Davis – Welcome Tonight we will have nominations and elections

Admin Coordinator Report – Nancy Clark

Shared dates of all upcoming meetings through November 14, 2024

Presentation is Motion – 2nd by Stephanie Gilberto

Voice Vote - Unanimous

Appeals Committee – No report Services Coordinator – No report Personnel Coordinator – No report

Finance Coordinator Report - Terrell Lewis

- Review of YTD Budget 81.25% of budget used at 92% of fiscal year
- Current Bank Account \$173414.86

Reading is Motion – 2nd by Lana McCants

Roll Call Vote - 11 yes

Finance Coordinator - Resolution to Report - Terrell Lewis

• \$170,000 in unobligated funds to be used solely for the acquisition of a non county building Reading is Motion – 2nd by Gary Holmes

Discussion of Unobligated Funds Roll Call Vote – 10 yes, 1 abstained – result YES

Superintendent Report – Jesus Pereira

- Reported on VAC business
- Motion to accept Nancy Clark 2nd by Lana McCants
- Request to allow Jesus Pereira to oversee all budget issues
- Motion to allow Nancy Clark 2nd by Terrell Lewis

New Business – Elections

- President
 - Nominees Dave Davis and Terrell Lewis
 - 1st vote 5 for Dave Davis (current president) 5 for Terrell Lewis 1 Abstain
 - o 2nd vote 4 for Dave Davis (current president) 5 for Terrell Lewis 2 Abstain
 - o Final: Terrell Lewis VACWC President starting October 1, 2024
- Admin Coordinator
 - Nominees Nancy Clark (current Admin Coord.) and Jerry Egilske
 - Vote: 7 for Nancy Claim 3 for Gerry Egilske 1 Abstain
 - o Final: Nancy Clark VACWC Admin Coordinator will continue role
- Finance Coordinator
 - o Nominees Eric Willard
 - o Elect by acclimation Motion: Terrell Lewis 2nd Stephanie Gilberto
 - Voice Vote: Yes unanimous
 - o Final: Eric Willard Finance Coordinator starting October 1, 2024
- Service and Personnel Coordinator
 - o Nominees Lana McCants (current Service and Personnel Coordinator) and Dave Davis
 - Vote: 6 for Lana McCants 3 for Dave Davis 2 Abstain
 - o Final: Lana McCants VACWC Service and Personnel Coordinator will continue role

Commencement of Meeting - 1841

- Motion to adjourn Gary Holmes 2nd by Stephanie Gilberto
- Voice Vote: Yes unanimous